Ealing announces new cabinet

by James Renoux-Wood Thu 12 June 2014, 5:38 pm

Ealing Council has revealed its new cabinet following the local election vote last month.

The nine councillors elected to the cabinet will have the following portfolios:

  • Councillor Julian Bell, leader of the council
  • Councillor Ranjit Dheer, deputy leader of the council and cabinet member for community services and safety
  • Councillor Binda Rai, cabinet member for children and young people
  • Councillor Yvonne Johnson, cabinet member for finance, performance and welfare
  • Councillor Hitesh Tailor, cabinet member for adults, health and wellbeing services
  • Councillor Jasbir Anand, cabinet member for housing, employment and skills
  • Councillor Bassam Mahfouz, cabinet member for transport and environment
  • Councillor Patricia Walker, cabinet member for leisure, culture and customer services
  • Councillor Yoel Gordon, who will be Chief Whip.

The Labour Party retained its control of the borough in the election, with its total number of seats rising to 53 from 40 in 2010.  The Conservative Party's representation was reduced from 24 seats to 12.

Bell said: “We are pleased with what we have already achieved, despite the difficult economic conditions, but there is so much more we want to do.

“The future holds some challenges but we are ready for them and have gone straight back to work to make sure we continue to improve services, while delivering a high standard of services to our residents."

Back to news index